Graham Cracker Chocolate Chip Snack Cake with Marshmallow Fluff Frosting

 

So I decided to beat my willpower to the punch today and ignore my new years resolution.

Cut back on sugar? Aren’t goals supposed to be realistic? I think I was reaching too far… I think I’ll aim for less sugar before noon. Or at least not with breakfast.

I decided to compromise and bake this yummy Graham Cracker Chocolate Chip Snack Cake. Did you catch those last couple words? SNACK cake. Doesn’t that kind of give you permission to treat that cake like a granola bar? But seriously. Who just ‘snacks’ on cake. Maybe that will be my new resolution. I’ll ‘snack’ more.

This recipe came from a new cookbook I got this Christmas from my aunt. She has this amazing knack for finding the best baking books for me. The concept of the book is almost as delicious as the recipes. Lauren Chattman (the author) wrote Cake Keeper Cakes with the intention to develop only easy and humble cakes that were quick and delicious. Rather than cakes being reserved only for special occasions, she wanted to remind of us that cakes can be simple (and delicious) enough to keep around everyday.

Cookies have gotten all of the glory over the past decades. She’s trying to push over the chocolate chips and bring in the bundt cakes.

I love her story- she was inspired by a little cake keeper she saw at gourmet shop by her house. Her mission was to have a cake keeper at home that she would always keep filled with some new kind of delicious snacking cake. I loved the idea of always having some new yummy aroma baking in the kitchen all week.

I told my mom I wanted to do this…

I think I got an eye roll.

(some people are actually trying to keep their new years resolutions. oops.)

Graham Cracker Chocolate Chip Snacking Cake

Ingredients:

  • 8 whole graham crackers, finely ground (about 1 cup)
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

For the frosting:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup Marshmallow Fluff

Preparation:

To Make the Cake:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8×8 pan with cooking spray and dust with flour.
  2. Combine graham crackers, flour, baking powder, and salt in a mixing bowl.
  3. Cream butter in sugar in a large bowl on medium-high speed. With the mixer on low add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla. Scrape down the sides and beat until smooth.
  4. With the mixer on low, add 1/3 flour mixture and 1/2 milk. Stir to combine. Repeat with remaining flour and milk, ending with the last 1/3 of flour.
  5. Scrape batter into pan and smooth top. 
  6. Bake 35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes before inverting on a wire rack to cool completely.

To Make the Frosting:

  1. Place butter in a medium bowl and cream until smooth. With the mixer on low, slowly add the confectioners’ sugar. Stir in the vanilla and the Fluff and mix until smooth. Use immediately or keep covered in plastic wrap in the frig for up to 3 days.

Store cake at room temperature in a covered container for up to 3 days.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Brownies and Bars, Cakes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

